

Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Court

1915 North Stiles Avenue • Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4918 210 Kerr State Office Building, 440 South Houston, Suite 210 • Tulsa, OK 74127 (405) 522-8600 • OKC (918) 581-2714 • TU (800) 522-8210 • In-state Toll Free

To: Workers' Compensation Payors

From: Michael Clingman, Workers' Compensation Court Administrator

Re: NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT RATE - July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013 -

MULTIPLE INJURY TRUST FUND ASSESSMENT per Title 85 O.S., §403

Date: April 24, 2012

The Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) assessment rate to be charged in accordance with 85 O.S., §403 for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013 is three and thirty-nine one hundredths percent (3.39%) of:

- gross direct premiums written for workers' compensation for risks located in this state (for insurance carriers and CompSource Oklahoma),
- normal premiums (for group self-insurance associations),
- actual paid losses (for individual self-insured employers).

The rate was calculated using a statutory formula. The formula involves dividing the total gross direct written premium, normal premium and actual paid losses reported by workers' compensation payors for calendar year 2011 (\$987,941,658.32) into \$33,460,000 [the sum of the MITF's outstanding obligations for calendar year 2012 (\$30,910,000), as reported by the Board of Managers of CompSource Oklahoma on behalf of the MITF, and \$2.55 Million fixed by law for funding various state programs related to worker safety and workers' compensation fraud prosecution].

Assessments are due on the 15th day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter and are based on the payor's premiums or losses (as applicable) during the quarter. The assessment due on July 15, 2012 (for the period of April 1, 2012 through June 30, 2012) is to be calculated at the existing one and ninety-eight one hundredths percent (1.98%) rate. The new three and thirty-nine one hundredths percent (3.39%) rate applies beginning July 1, 2012 (i.e. the third quarter of calendar year 2012) until June 30, 2013. The Workers' Compensation Court Administrator will provide notice of the assessment rate for subsequent four-quarter periods by May 1 of each year. Quarterly reminder notices will NOT be provided.

A summary of the payment due dates and calculation of the assessment for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013 follows:

Payment Due October 15, 2012

For the third quarter of calendar year 2012 - Assessment amount is 3.39% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the period of July 1, 2012 through September 30, 2012.

Payment Due January 15, 2013	For the fourth quarter of calendar year 2012 - Assessment

amount is 3.39% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the period of October 1, 2012 through December 31, 2012.

Payment Due April 15, 2013 For the first quarter of calendar year 2013 - Assessment

amount is 3.39% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the

period of January 1, 2013 through March 31, 2013.

Payment Due July 15, 2013 For the second quarter of calendar year 2013 - Assessment

amount is 3.39% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for the

period of April 1, 2013 through June 30, 2013.

The Workers' Compensation Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form may be accessed via the Court's web site at www.owcc.state.ok.us/Whats_New.htm or by linking directly with the Tax Commission's web site at www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html. Complete the report, and mail it and your remittance by the appropriate due date to:

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION Account Maintenance Division Special Taxes 2501 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73194-0004

Retain a copy of the completed report for your records. Failure to timely remit the assessment, or to notify that payment was made, may result in administrative penalties, including but not limited to, the greater of \$500 or 1% of the unpaid amount. By law, notice of each assessment payment must be given to the Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner (if you are an insurance carrier or CompSource Oklahoma) or to the Workers' Compensation Court Administrator (if you are an individual self-insured employer or group self-insurance association). Mail notice of payment as instructed at the bottom of your Workers' Compensation Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form.

Direct questions about the assessment rate to Richard Fisher or Mike Andreatta, 405-522-8600. Direct questions about remittance of the assessment to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Account Maintenance Division, 405-521-3938. Direct questions about refunds and the tax rebate related to the assessment to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Taxpayer Assistance Division, 405-521-3160.

NOTE: State law permits a 2/3rds rebate of MITF assessments paid each tax year. The request form for the rebate is available via the Workers' Compensation Court's web site, www.owcc.state.ok.us/Whats New.htm, or by linking directly with the Tax Commission's web site at www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html. To avoid a ten percent (10%) reduction in the amount of the rebate for assessments paid for the preceding tax year, submit the rebate to the Oklahoma Tax Commission annually by May 31.