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Employee’s Rights & Responsibilities
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What Is Workers’ Compensation?

Workers’ compensation is an insurance program that provides compensation for
disability, and medical and rehabilitation benefits, for employees injured on the job. In
the case of accidental death of an employee, it includes benefits to the employee’s
dependents. Under workers’ compensation, both workers and employers are protected.
Each covered worker has a right to benefits for a compensable injury. In return,
employers are protected from liability lawsuits outside the workers’ compensation
system.

How Long Do I Have To Work To Be Covered By
Workers’ Compensation?

There is no waiting period. You are covered by workers’ compensation as soon as
you begin your employment.

Who is Covered By The Workers’ Compensation Code?

Generally, every employee hired in Oklahoma or who is injured in Oklahoma is
covered by the workers’ compensation laws of the state. Independent contractors are
not employees and are therefore not covered.

Other exceptions to coverage include persons covered for job-related injuries under
the federal law; certain agricultural workers; licensed real estate brokers paid on a
commission basis; certain persons providing services administered by the Oklahoma
Department of Human Services; any person employed by an employer with 5 or fewer
employees, all of whom are related by blood or marriage to the employer; any person
employed by a tax-exempt youth sports league; sole proprietors, members of a
partnership, certain persons who are a party to a franchise agreement, certain members
of a limited liability company and certain stockholders of a corporation; any person that
provides voluntary service who receives no wages for the services other than meals,
drug or alcohol rehabilitation therapy, transportation, lodging or reimbursement for
incidental expenses; owner-operators of a truck-tractor; and drive-away owner
operators. All of these groups of people are exempt from the workers’ compensation
laws of the state by law.

NOTES

13



NOTES

14

What If My Employer Does Not Have Workers’ Compensation Coverage?

If your employer failed to secure the payment of workers’ compensation as provided
by law, you, or your legal representative if death results from the injury, may maintain
an action either in the Workers’ Compensation Court or in the district court, but not
both, for damages due to the injury. If the action is maintained in the district court, the
limits on benefits under the workers’ compensation law do not apply.

When Should I Report An Accident That Occurred On The Job?

Any job-related injury should be reported to your supervisor as soon as possible.
Failure to timely report an injury may result in the loss of benefits. An employee must
report a single event injury to the employer within 30 days or medical treatment must be
obtained within the 30-day period. In cases of occupational disease or injuries caused
by “repeated” trauma, an employee must give notice to the employer within 90 days of
the employee’s separation from employment.

What Do I Do About Medical Treatment?

After you are injured, your employer shall promptly provide medical, surgical or
other treatment that is reasonable and necessary due to the injury. Your employer has
the right to select the treating physician. However, an employee is allowed to secure
necessary medical services from a physician of the employee’s choice, at the employer’s
expense, where the employer fails or neglects to provide treatment within 7 days after
actual notice of the injury, or where an emergency exists.

The physician selected by the employer shall become the treating physician. If the
employee is covered by a certified workplace medical plan, the employer shall select a
treating physician for the injured employee from the plan’s network of physicians.

Can I Change Doctors?
Yes, but the procedure for changing a treating physician is different depending upon

whether or not the employee is covered by a certified workplace medical plan (CWMP).
CWMPs are organizations that provide managed care in workers’ compensation.



If the employee is not covered by a CWMP, the employee may apply to the Court
for one change of physician for any affected body part. No change of treating physician
is allowed for a body part unless medical care for that body part was provided for 180
days before the application. No more than two (2) changes of physician are allowed in a
claim.

If the employee is covered by a CWMP, the employee may apply for a one-time
change of physician to another appropriate physician within the network of the CWMP
using the dispute resolution process set out in the CWMP. Once the dispute resolution
process has been exhausted, the employee may petition the Court for a change of
physician within the plan. If there is not a physician available within the plan that is
qualified to treat the employee’s injuries, a physician outside of the plan may be selected
if the physician agrees to comply with all the rules, terms and conditions of the certified
workplace medical plan.

What If I Need Emergency Medical Treatment? Must I Use The
Certified Workplace Medical Plan?

No. An injured worker that is covered by a certified workplace medical plan may
secure necessary emergency medical services, at the employer’s expense, from medical
providers who are not part of the plan.

Do I Have To Pay For Any Of The Medical Costs?

No. Your employer or its insurance company must pay for all authorized and
medically necessary care for a compensable injury.

How Long Before Weekly Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits Begin?

If you are off work due to your injuries for more than 7 calendar days after your
injury, you may be entitled to weekly TTD benefits. No TTD benefits are authorized for
the first 7 days after the injury unless the Court determines you were temporarily totally
disabled for more than 21 days. In that event, TTD benefits are payable from the first
day. TTD benefits may be commenced without a Court order.
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Where Can I Obtain Additional Information About Workers’ Compensation?

You may contact the Workers’ Compenation Court’s Counselor Program, visit the
Court’s web site at www.owcc.state.ok.us, or search the Oklahoma statutes on workers’
compensation online at www.owcc.state.ok.us/administrator_and_court_rules.htm.

What Are My Responsibilities?

As an injured worker, you have the obligation to assist in your recovery. To help
make this happen, you should:

e Keep in touch with your employer;

e Keep appointments made with your doctor, the insurer, and job counselor.
Missing a doctor’s appointment without good cause may result in you being
ordered to pay a “no show” fee;

e Follow your doctors’ instructions and treatment plan. Your entitlement to TTD
benefits may be terminated by the employer if, without a valid excuse, you do
not comply with your medical treatment, miss medical appointments or abandon
care;

e Cooperate with persons who are helping you get back to work; and

¢ Contact your employer immediately when your doctor releases you for work.

This pamphlet has been prepared by the Workers’ Compensation Court Counselor
Program to provide information to employees with questions about their rights and
responsibilities under the Oklahoma workers’ compensation laws. If you have further
questions, or need additional information, you may contact the Counselor Program at
the address and telephone numbers listed below.

Workers’ Compensation Court Counselor Program
1915 North Stiles Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
210 Kerr State Office Bldg., 440 S. Houston, Tulsa, OK 74127

Oklahoma City Area: (405) 522-8760
Tulsa Area: (918) 581-2714
Statewide Toll Free: (800) 522-8210
Electronic Mail: Counselors@ owcc.state.ok.us
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How Is The Amount Of My TTD Weekly Income Benefits Determined?

When you are injured on the job and you are unable to work for more than 7
calendar days, you are eligible for weekly benefits amounting to 70% of your average
weekly wage, up to the maximum set by law. The maximum is equal to the state’s
average weekly wage.

The maximum allowable weekly TTD benefits based on injury date are as follows:

Date of Injury Max. TTD Rate
Nov. 01, 2012 to Oct. 31, 2013 .. ..o e, $771.00
Nov. 01, 2011 to Oct. 31, 2012 ..o coeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, $735.00
Nov. 01, 2010 to Oct. 31, 2011 .cceeeieeieeeeieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, $716.00
Nov. 01, 2009 to Oct. 31, 2010 .....ccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennn. $717.00
Nov. 01, 2008 to Oct. 31, 2009......ccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennn. $683.00
Nov. 01, 2005 to Oct. 31, 2008 ......ccooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennn. $577.00
Nov. 01, 2002 to Oct. 31, 2005.....cccoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenn. $528.00
Nov. 01, 1999 to Oct. 31, 2002.....cceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenn. $473.00
Nov. 01, 1996 to Oct. 31, 1999.......oovvvmverriireeeiiiiiiririeaann, $426.00

To obtain rates for earlier injury dates than those listed, please contact the Counselor Program.

How Long Am I Eligible For TTD Weekly Income Benefits?

Generally, the duration of temporary total disability benefits depends on the date and
nature of the injury and when your healing period ends. You may receive TTD benefits
for as long as you are unable to work, subject to certain limitations. The maximum
duration of TTD benefits is 156 weeks, unless there is a consequential injury, in which
case the Court may award an additional 52 weeks.

TTD benefits for soft tissue injuries (e.g. sprains, strains, contusions, tendonitis,
muscle tears and cumulative trauma) are subject to special rules set by law. In some
instances, TTD for a soft tissue injury may be limited to 8 weeks.




Must I Notify My Employer If I Accept Other Employment While Receiving
Temporary Total Disability?

Yes. Any person receiving temporary disability benefits from an employer or the
employer’s insurance company must report within 7 days, in writing, to the employer or
insurance carrier any change in material fact, the amount of income being received, or
any change in employment status while receiving temporary total disability benefits.

What If My Injury Keeps Me From Getting A Job I Can Perform?

You may be entitled to educational assistance and training to learn another skill.
You also may be eligible for job-placement assistance in obtaining other employment.

What Benefits Am I Eligible To Receive If I Have A Permanent Disability?

Permanent Partial Impairment (PPI). PPI benefits are paid for disability resulting
from a job-related injury or occupational disease which is permanent but does not result
in total disability. If you are determined to be permanently partially impaired, it is
expected that you will be able to return to some type of work. PPI benefits are based on
the type and extent of disability.

Disability for certain injuries is compensated based on a schedule found in the law.
A sample of benefits under this schedule is located on the Court’s web site at
www.owcc.state.ok.us, under “Benefit Charts” for the applicable injury date. If your
injury is not specifically listed in the schedule, your compensation will be based on the
percentage of disability to your body as a whole. “Scheduled injuries” include, but are
not limited to, injuries to the hands, feet, arms and legs. “Whole body injuries” include
injuries to the back, neck, head, shoulders and hips. Determination of the percentage of
impairment for injuries, except scheduled injuries, is based on the criteria of the
American Medical Association’s “Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment.”

PPI benefits are figured at 70% of your average weekly wages, not to exceed $323
per week for injuries occurring on or after August 27, 2010 through August 26, 2015.
For injuries occurring on or after August 27, 2010, the PPI benefit shall not be less than
$150 per week.

What If Workers’ Compensation Fraud Is Suspected?

Cases of suspected workers’ compensation fraud should be referred to the Attorney
General Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit for the purposes of investigation, civil
action, criminal action or referral to the District Attorney.

The Attorney General Workers” Compensation Fraud Unit can be contacted at:

313 N.E. 21 Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 522-3403
(877) 800-8764 (toll free)

Can I Call The Workers’ Compensation Court For Information?

Yes. The Workers’ Compensation Court has established a Counselor Program. The
program also is known as the Ombudsman Program. A Counselor provides information
and improves communications among injured workers, employers, insurance carriers
and health care providers. Contact information for the Counselor/Ombudsman Program
is located on the back page of this pamphlet.

Who Can Contact The Workers’ Compensation Counselor/Ombudsman
Program For Information?

The injured worker, the heirs of a deceased worker, the employer, the insurance
carrier, the health care provider and other interested persons.

What Kind Of Information Can The Counselor Provide, and
Can The Counselor Provide Legal Advice Or Services?

The Workers’ Compensation Counselor Program:

e Cannot provide legal advice or services;

e Provides general information and an explanation of rights and responsibilities;

e Helps an employee determine if the employer is insured and whether coverage is
through a private carrier, CompSource Oklahoma, or through self-insurance; and

e Explains how to report an injury and how to file a claim.
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Where Are Trials Held?
Trials are held either in Oklahoma City or Tulsa, or as otherwise provided by law.
Am I Required To Have An Attorney?

No. Workers have the right to represent themselves in a trial before the Workers’
Compensation Court. If a trial is necessary because of a dispute, your employer’s
insurance carrier must be represented by a lawyer. You have the right, but are not
required, to be represented by a lawyer.

What If I Want To Hire A Lawyer, But I Do Not Know One?

If you are an Oklahoma resident, you may call your county lawyer referral service.
Some County Bar Associations will refer you to an attorney. Under no circumstance
may any Court employee recommend an attorney to you.

How Much Will An Attorney Charge?

A maximum of 10% of any award for contested temporary disability, and 20% of
any award for permanent disability or for a contested death case is permitted as an
attorney fee. All attorney fees are subject to court approval. In addition to the attorney
fee, you will be responsible for expenses in preparing your case for settlement or trial.

What If I Am Fired For Filing A Workers’ Compensation Claim?

You may have a cause of action if your employer fires you because you have in
good faith filed a claim, retained a lawyer to represent you, or have testified or plan to
testify in a court proceeding. These actions are filed in district court.

How Can I Report An Employer That Does Not Have Workers’
Compensation Insurance Or Who Requires Employees to Pay For
Workers’ Compensation Insurance Premiums?

You may contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor at (405) 521-6100 or toll free
statewide at (888) 269-5353, and give them the employer’s name and address.
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Permanent Total Disability (PTD). PTD benefits are paid for a job-related injury
or occupational disease that results in permanent and total disability. PTD benefits are
paid during the continuance of the disability until the employee reaches the age of
maximum Social Security retirement benefits or for a period of 15 years, whichever is
longer.

PTD benefits are figured at 70% of your average weekly wages, up to the maximum
set by law. The maximum is equal to the average weekly wage in Oklahoma. For
injuries occurring from November 1, 2011 through October 31, 2012, the maximum rate
for permanent total disability is $735 per week.

If I Die As The Result Of A Job-Related Accident,
What Benefits Can My Dependents Receive?

A surviving spouse is entitled to a lump sum benefit payment, as is each dependent
child. In addition, the spouse and other dependents may receive weekly benefits based
upon the wages earned by the employee at the time of death, and may receive funeral
costs. Benefits stop when a spouse remarries, at which time a lump sum equal to two
years’ compensation is paid. A child’s benefits stop at age 18, but can continue until age
23 if the child is a full-time student enrolled in an accredited educational institution or is
home-schooled. A child who is mentally or physically unable to be self-supporting also
may be entitled to benefits after age 18.

Can I Receive Social Security Disability And
Workers’ Compensation Benefits At The Same Time?

Yes. However, Social Security benefits may take credit for the amount of workers’
compensation benefits you are receiving. This may result in a reduced Social Security
benefit.

Am I Entitled To Receive Temporary Total Disability (TTD) And
Unemployment Benefits At The Same Time?

No employee may receive TTD benefits covering the same period of time as
unemployment compensation benefits or for which employer provided short-term
disability benefits are received.



How Do I File A Workers’Compensation Claim With The Court?

If you wish to file a claim as a result of a job-related injury, a “Form 3” should be
filed with the Workers’ Compensation Court. A “Form 3B” should be filed if you have
an occupational disease (such as “asbestosis” or “silicosis”). A “Form 3A” should be
filed for a death claim if an employee dies as the result of a job-related injury. You may
request the necessary forms to file a claim from your employer or the Workers’
Compensation Court. The forms also are posted on the Court’s web site at
www.owcc.state.ok.us/court_forms.htm.

Is There A Time Limit On Filing A Claim With The Court?

Yes. Anyone wishing to file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits with the
Court must do so within two (2) years from the date of the injury or death, or within two
(2) years from the date of payment of any compensation or wages in lieu of
compensation, or within two (2) years of authorized medical care. For “repeated
trauma” injuries, the two-year period runs from the date on which the employee was last
employed. In case of asbestosis, or asbestosis related disease, silicosis or exposure to
nuclear radiation, the two (2) years runs from the date the condition results in a
symptom which can be medically diagnosed or from the date of last exposure.

How Do I Obtain Benefits?

You should contact your employer or the employer’s insurance carrier as soon as
possible after an accidental injury to see if benefits will be provided voluntarily. An
employer or insurance carrier may require a letter from your physician stating the type
of treatment being provided and whether you are able to work. You should ask your
employer to report the injury by filing a “Form 2” (Employer’s First Notice Injury) with
the Court and to provide their insurance company with a copy.

What Happens After I File A Claim?

If you wish the Court to resolve an issue between you and your employer or their
insurance carrier, you may ask the Court to set your case before a judge. You or your
legal representative must file a “Form 9” (Motion To Set For Trial) to request a trial. A
“Form 9” is available from the Court. The form also is posted on the Court’s web site at
www.owcc.state.ok.us/court_forms.htm.

May A District Attorney Or The Workers’ Compensation Court
Examine My Records Pertaining To My Job-Related Injury?

Yes. Upon filing a notice of injury or claim for benefits with the Court, all
employers and employees shall give written permission for the Administrator of the
Workers’ Compensation Court, the Attorney General, and the District Attorney to
examine all records relating to the notice of injury or claim. Although the claim form is
not a medical authorization, medical records also may be obtained as permitted by
Oklahoma law.

What Is A Trial?

A trial before the Workers’ Compensation Court is much like any other non-jury trial
in an Oklahoma court. Your case will be heard by a judge who will decide what, if any,
benefits are due under Oklahoma law. The judge’s decision will be based upon the law
and the facts involved in your case, including medical evidence introduced and
testimony presented to the judge at the trial.

Is A Trial Always Necessary?

No. A trial is necessary only when there is a dispute between you and the employer
or its insurance carrier that cannot be resolved. Claims can be settled without a trial
before a judge of the Court. Court approval of all final settlements is required.

Other Than A Trial, What Are my Options for Settling a Dispute?

A party to a dispute can request mediation to settle a dispute regardless of whether a
claim has been filed with the Court. The Court on its own or in response to a request,
may order mediation. Any workers’ compensation claim can be mediated except
Multiple Injury Trust Fund claims and disputes on medical care arising within a certified
workplace medical plan. All final settlements of a case resolved by mediation must be
approved by the Court.

If mediation is desired, or if you have questions about mediation or need forms to
request mediation, you may contact the Counselor Program. Contact information for the
Counselor Program is located on the back page of this pamphlet.



